Security profiles determine what areas of Paragon a user can access, and what they can do in each module. This document will explain how to create and maintain these security profiles. Once your profiles are set up, you can assign them to users.
Step 1: Go to security profile setup
From any Paragon screen, hit the settings button at the top right corner of the screen.
On the settings screen, select the security option from the user access settings card to access the security module.
Step 2: Add a new security profile
The left hand side shows the list of security profiles that are already set up.
To add a new security profile, hit the create new security profile button at the top of the screen.
This is the screen that will appear.
Step 3: Add a profile name and owner
Enter a profile name and an owner.
Step 4: Set permissions
There are six types of permissions in Paragon.
- Visible – when you allow the user to view, create, update and delete what’s inside Paragon. This is the highest level of security a user can have.
- Invisible – when you make a section of Paragon invisible to the user (they will not see it when they log in).
- Readable – when you only allow the user to read what’s inside Paragon. They cannot delete, update, edit or create.
- Updateable – when you allow the user to update what’s already inside Paragon. They cannot create or delete anything, but can update what’s already there. This cannot be applied to reports or modules as they themselves cannot be updated.
- Createable – when you allow the user to create and update what’s inside Paragon. This cannot be applied to modules themselves or reports as they themselves cannot be created.
- Deleteable – when you allow the user to create, update and delete what’s inside Paragon. This is the highest level of security a user can have. This access cannot be applied to modules themselves or reports, as they themselves cannot be deleted.
Click on a module’s permission level to choose how users see and interact with each module.
Click on a module item’s permission level to choose how users see and interact with module items in Paragon.
Step 5: Save your changes
To save, hit the save button at the bottom right corner of the screen. To cancel, hit the red button at the top left corner of the screen.
You can now use the security profile to start creating user profiles. For more information on how to do this, click here.